Go ahead…introduce yourself :)

Starting this blog has encouraged me to think outside of the box so I can come up with new posts that support ‘being cleveland’. I was thinking through this very thought as I was getting a large mocha lite at Cork and Beans, the coffee shop in the Huntington Building I’ve been going to since 2004. As I watched my drink being made (just a little bit of of whip cream and sprinkles please), I realized that I have been having the same conversation with these nice coffee people for the last 7 years…

Coffee people: Hi, what can I get for you?                                                                                 Me: Large mocha lite please                                                                                                         Coffee people make the drink and pour it into my ecocup with my requested toppings   Coffeee people: That’ll be $3                                                                                                         We exchange money.                                                                                                                         Me: Thanks.                                                                                                                                     Coffee people: Have a nice day and come again.

…but yet I didn’t even know their names! So we exchanged pleasantries and I went on my way. Point being, how many times do we pass someone in the hallway and neglect to say hi? Or avoid eye contact? Do we interact with people we see on a regular basis in an impersonal way? Maybe next time you’re ordering your daily cup of joe or signing into the gym, ask the person across the counter how their day is going. At a minimum, you learned ‘someone’ new.

By the way, thanks Toni and Monica!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Go ahead…introduce yourself :)

  1. kendra says:

    Hi Eileen. I am a fan of your blog’s whole bag! I am also a fan of ordering an espresso-based beverage that is NOT a kid-sized for LESS THAN $6. With sprinkles, no less! Now that is a reason to love Cleveland if I ever saw one. Or imbibed one.

Leave a Reply

