The Black Keys – Grammy Winners!

 

 

photo from cleveland.com

 

Congratulations to The Black Keys for winning the following 2011 Grammys:                                      – Brothers – Best Alternative Music Album          – Brothers – Best Recording Package (Michael Carney)                                                                                  – Tighten Up – Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals

The Black Keys hail from Akron, Ohio. How bout some NEO pride folks?

I have personally never met them but Bizzle played baseball with Dan in the good ol’ days of WABL, West Akron Baseball League, so it’s pretty wild that two guys our age, from Akron, attended Firestone High School, whom some of you may have grown up with or hung out back in the day, have won the highest honor in music.

My first Black Keys concert was back in early 2006. I’ll be honest, I’m not a big concert person so when Bizzle asked me to go to with him, back in our dating infancy, I willingly agreed to go so I could get some QT (i’m so sly – ha!).  I enjoyed their rock/bluesy sound, liked but not loved the songs (I have a stronger preference to hip-hop, pop, and 80’s hits) but especially noted the enthusiasm and love the crowd showered to the band and vice versa.

Over the past few years, I have gone to a handful more of their concerts and my appreciation has grown with time, just like old wine 🙂 I’ve been fortunate to have seen them in more intimate shows such as Mocha Maiden in Akron and at The Agora.  My favorites are ‘Tighten Up’ and ‘Howling For You’ from their Brothers album.

And from an ‘importance of being cleveland’ perspective,  my heart swells a little bit when I hear them on Sirius radio and I was pumped when they were on Saturday Night Live in January this year. I don’t know where lead singer, Dan Auerbach, gets his pipes but his voice is distinctly raw, soulful and deeper than I would’ve expected from a 30-something year old white boy from the ‘burbs. Pat rocks the drums and it’s a lot of fun to watch them play. So check them out and show support by downloading a song or two.

Happy Friday friends! I’m hitting up Happy Dog for happy hour after work today – sounds perfect doesn’t it? The sun has come out today and it’s supposed to be a beautiful weekend. Get out of your house and check out something new this weekend! – Breakfast at South Side? – Dinner at Etna in Little Italy! 5 stars for me across the board. Love it love it love. – Get a new outfit at Evie Lou? – De-stress at Yoga class?

 

Have an awesome weekend!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Fashion, Restaurants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Black Keys – Grammy Winners!

  1. Anne says:

    I love the Black Keys! I think they should have won Best Album of the year for “Brothers.” I refuse to take that CD out of my car because its so damn fantastic and I never get sick of it. Give a listen to the song “Sinister Kid”-it’s one of my faves.

Leave a Reply

