Great Events This Week – Cleveland International Film Festival, Earth Hour 2011 & Birthdays!

Awesome things happening this week.

35th Cleveland International Film Festival

Cleveland International Film Festival :: March 24-April 3, 2011

website: http://www.clevelandfilm.org – The festival is starting this Thursday. The CIFF is bringing you quality film from around the world that otherwise, you would most likely never hear of or see. Indie movies offer unique authenticity, rawness and sometimes quirkiness. There are a few in this year’s lineup with Cleveland in it’s storyline. Definitely consider checking out the festival, especially if you’ve never been. Support the arts and your city!

Dawson is not going to the Intl'l Film Festival because he wasn't invited. His cheesy film about a Capetown nerd in love with a tomboy named Audrey that visits him every night by climbing up a ladder to his room (its sooo Joey), didn't make the cut.

Earth Hour 2011
Date: Saturday, March 26
Time: 8:30 pm – 9:30 pm, local time
website: http://www.earthhour.org

Could you turn your lights off for 1 hour?

Earth Hour is an event that started in 2007 in Sydney, Australia when 2.2 million individuals and more than 2,000 businesses turned their lights off for one hour to take a stand against climate change. – http://www.earthhour.org

To bring this event closer to home, I created
1) a Facebook page (please ‘like’ it)
2) a Facebook event (please ‘rsvp’)
for Earth Hour – Cleveland/Akron

I would really appreciate your support. Yes its only a few days away but we can start small. Baby steps…

Full disclosure: I am attending a birthday dinner during the actual event so I am going to fully participate and turn all my lights off on Sunday evening at 8:30 pm. (My lights will be off at the time as I will not be home but that’s half-assing it and that’s not how I do things). But I concur, my half-truth deception is like the Saved By The Bell episode when Mr. Belding’s brother, Rod, plans a whitewater rafting trip only for him to bail so he can meet up with Inga the stewardness. No? Fine not really. Even if my attempt at comedic empathy is falling on deaf ears, please like these events on Facebook. Only takes 5 seconds.

Since I now feel like I’m at confession…so remember how I touted the Emerging Chefs event? Why yes you do! I did in fact buy tickets but then did a sh*tty job of checking my schedule as I realized the next morning that I have a work event (that I helped plan – oh yikes!). So that’s this Thursday too.
**Roomy, please take pics and good notes!

Finally, happy birthday to my awesome, beautiful, amazing friends – Rooms and Strohsie. I love you both to pieces! Watch out Cleveland, there is some major celebrating in store this weekend!!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Cleveland Events, Sustainability and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

